Haiku For Carpe Diem #238, Affection

Affection is our Haiku prompt of the day from Carpe Diem.

I suspect I may test your affection today with this marathon selection of haiku written to compliment images of a life-time…

Grandmas Been

affection
try to accept it
like babies

Winslow_Homer_-_Girls_strolling_in_an_Orchard

childhood affection
secrets, loves and longings shared
pinky promises

Toe Art…Love & Care by Vinoth ChandarImage by Vinoth Chandar

a toast to
the affection of
soul mates

VMAQ-2 Marines return from Afghanistan

Image by DVIDSHUB

may you know times
when joy, love and affection
are understatements

Old Couple By Ian MacKenzie

Image by Ian MacKenzie

as autumn leaves fall
on the park bench where they met
it feels like springtime

Skeletons By Michael Tyler

Image by Michael Tyler

to the end of time
despite fatal affliction
affection remains

Welcome! I’m so pleased you made it this far down for which you have my undying affection and admiration *doffs his hat and bows deeply*

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

If you like these Haiku, visit JRB’s Haiku Gifts

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy living on Gubbi Gubbi land. Occasional writer of Haiku.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Haiku For Carpe Diem #238, Affection

  1. howanxious says:

    Wonderful set of haiku!

    Like

  2. Beautifully done set. I really love the 5th one 🙂

    Like

  3. tigerbrite says:

    Wonderful set! Your Grandma picture made me smile:)

    Like

  4. Jessica Slavin says:

    These are so wonderful!

    Like

  5. 4joy says:

    I too vote for #5, the best of a wonderful set,..affectionately yours, ….

    Like

  6. Look for A Lovely Thing says:

    A sweet set of haiku. I especially like “as autumn leaves fall.”

    Like

  7. WabiSabi says:

    You’ve covered all the affections of a well lived lifetime, beautifully! Especially loved ‘autumn leaves.’ Keep writing, my friend!Carpe Diem Affection

    Like

  8. yerpirate says:

    You put us through all the emotions there…the springtime one was particularly outstanding.

    Like

  9. jazzbumpa says:

    I had to go back and count to see which is #5 – yes, may favorite, too.
    This must be an old crowd
    They’re all good.

    Cheers!
    JzB

    Like

  10. Love that you took us through a whole life of affection … what a great set.

    Like

  11. Steph says:

    Crowd favorite is the autumn leaves – I like it too. But I also love the first one. Sometimes accepting affection is a choice. And that last image is haunting. Really great collection!

    Like

  12. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    You meant “sole” mates, didn’t you? 😀

    Untamed Affections

    Like

  13. I love the sequence…and the last two are my favorites of this set…
    Peace
    Siggi

    Like

  14. Maggie Grace says:

    It’s 1:49 am. Finally getting to Carpe Diem or any online writing today except for a few tweets. I did see these on my phone this morning and loved them. Beautiful haiku, humor or not, all capturing affection. I would say affection was sometimes more important than many other emotions. Thank you for this treat, JRB!

    Like

  15. The before last haiku is extraordinary JRB. All nicely written haiku … and those photo’s awesome.

    Like

Leave a comment