Haiku Carpe Diem #201, The Devil (XV) Tarot

Our next Carpe Diem Tarot card Haiku prompt is The Devil (XV)

For me, Devils and Gods are much the same. They can only exist when mankind chooses to call on them…

RWS_Tarot_15_Devil

 

in the dark places
betwixt heart and conscience
your devil awaits

~ |~

a little child cries
whilst the priest takes them to hell
blaming the devil

~|~

in the name of god
man’s atrocities fulfilled
the devil’s calling

Phew, after that journey into dark places, I feel more than ever, I give you…

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

If you like these Haiku,  visit JRB’s Haiku Gifts.

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy living on Gubbi Gubbi land. Occasional writer of Haiku.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #201, The Devil (XV) Tarot

  1. jazzbumpa says:

    That second one – so tragic

    yes the devil is within us all

    i have my doubts about god

    JzB

    Like

  2. Devils and gods are so much the same. That 2nd haiku is very sad and I was in shock when I heard that priests misused children. How evil can the church be. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. Look for A Lovely Thing says:

    The 2nd one scares me. I like the first one. We all grapple with the devil inside.

    Like

  4. The last one really talks about evil itself I think.. and if nothing else that’s the devil.

    Like

  5. Maggie Grace says:

    You go where my mind goes. Validation of sorts. Thank you for your expression of such things…poetic justice??

    Like

  6. pirate says:

    Very profound – all three, even the second, which can be read in different ways, but is horrific when read as about the abuse of priests on children – how many years, how many children..On that fact alone I would disband the catholic church…
    The third haiku is extraordinary. probably the most thought-provoking haiku I have read.

    Like

  7. Green Speck says:

    The last one, yes, so true !!!

    Like

Leave a comment