Haiku Carpe Diem Special #39, Kyoshi Takahama’s ‘shutting my eyes’

The Carpe Diem prompt today is a Haiku by Kyoshi Takahama’s ‘shutting my eyes’

shutting my eyes
I find a young me found
in the Spring evening

Growing up in North Devon, from Easter to October my Mum and Dad worked from 6am to 12am, seven days a week, looking after people as a nurse, running their guesthouse and at night, in their take-away food shop. But once the tourists had all gone, we’d head off as a family for four weeks holiday together in The Algarve, Portugal.

When I think of those holidays, I have many happy memories, making the most of having Mum and Dad to ourselves for a while. Not least of which was a ritual Mum and I had where I would sit her down in the heat of the day and subject her to The Treatment…

The Treatment

eyes closed, boy again
precious weeks in the sunshine
giving ‘The Treatment’

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

If you like these Haiku,  visit JRB’s Haiku Gifts.

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haibun, Haiku and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem Special #39, Kyoshi Takahama’s ‘shutting my eyes’

  1. Maggie Grace says:

    Nice memory recalled in your haiku!

  2. Awesome childhood memory JRB … really a nice take on Kyoshi’s haiku.

  3. 4joy says:

    Is the little boy you? Beautiful memories…so thankful I have so many wonderful ones, too…

  4. Wonderful and that treatment looked “nice”

Leave a Reply

