Haiku Carpe Diem #191, The Lovers (VI)

Our next card in the Carpe Diem Tarot Haiku series is The Lovers (VI).

Today I managed one haiku on the tarot theme before the tangent took over.

I seems I’ve tried a different approach today. It’s possible that what I’ve presented is three Haibun but not being a ‘Classical’ Haiku Poet I can’t be sure, so you may be the judge.

RWS_Tarot_06_Lovers

Looking at this card for The Lovers, I was reminded how many of God’s prophets climbed to the top of a mountain to hear god’s word delivered in person, or by one of ‘his’ angel messengers. Could this be the reason for the card presenting the angel hovering over a mountain behind a naked man and women?

Or perhaps, the artist was not trying to impart ancient wisdom, but just shared my schoolboy sense of humour…

angel’s calling card
revealing god’s temptations
watching lover’s mount

Expulsion_of_Adam_and_Eve_(Alexandre_Cabanel)

Googling Aam and Eve as part of the research for this post, I was taken by how many images didn’t show the ‘traditional’ serpent tempting Eve to partake in a little scrumping, but rather depicted Cherubs and Angels whispering from the branches.

The image above seems to show God’s Angels pouncing from behind the trees after Eve takes that famous nibble. For millennia holy men have told us this was humankind’s (or to be precise, woman’s) original sin, but one wonders what our modern day judges would call it…

original sin
what believers call our crime
some call entrapment

596px-Adam_and_Eve_by_Harald_Slott-Moller_-_Statens_Museum_for_Kunst_-_DSC08287

At school, learning how scientific evidence suggested that first humans were came out of Africa, I never understood why theological explorers travelled far and wide from their european mansions looking for Eden, when all their evidence suggested that they should have been looking in their middle class suburbs.

humanity’s first
picture bible’s first lovers
never black, and white

If you’ve made it this far, you’ve gifted me a generous share of your time today, for which I thank you. Before you go, perhaps I can leave you with this earwom from Michael Jackson – “If you’re thinking of being my baby it don’t matter if you’re black or white” Da Da Da Da DADA. Da Da Da Da DaaaDaaa.

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

If you like these Haiku,  visit JRB’s Haiku Gifts.

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haibun, Haiku and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #191, The Lovers (VI)

  1. WabiSabi says:

    Wow! You do almost as much research as Kris does! And then you proceed to write the most irreverent haiku! Bravo! 🙂

  2. Cathy Tenzo says:

    I love the thought of entrapment here–it made me laugh and thanks for the link on “scrumping” I had not heard that particular term (and assumed actually that it was something more risque, pertaining to the lovers….) And oddly enough, I know the Michael Jackson but it reminded me of a different earworm: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lNYcviXK4rg

    • jrbsays says:

      I should imaging that scrumping also has a risqué meaning, but as children climbing over the farmer’s hedge to get at his apples was risky enough 😉
      Damn, you got me, I clicked the link 🙂

      • Cathy Tenzo says:

        LOL, I was just glad for the link because I always look things up if I don’t know so it was helpful. That’s why I know so many words I don’t get to use very often, although I swear that one of these days I shall use “defenestration” in a haiku.

  3. Maggie Grace says:

    Wow from me too…that we had similar thoughts! I feel validated now and thank you for this perspective.

  4. JazzBumpa says:

    You’re in rare form today.
    I especially like the second

    Cheers!
    JzB
    .

  5. toadslayer says:

    Very nice. I especially like your second haiku. Great take on the prompt.

  6. pirate says:

    A real haibun there to be proud of…!

  7. Yes.. I think it was entrapment.. that would explaing a lot. and I add to the wow…

  8. I can tell you enjoyed the research. never black and white more like technicolor and jazzy notes is the world of the lovers

  9. siggiofmaine says:

    I like each for their presentation and concise choice of words by you.

    Thank you…
    Peace
    Siggi

Leave a Reply

