Haiku Carpe Diem #184, Tarot

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku prompt is the first in a series on Tarot.

Today the deal gives you a tarot cascade…

800px-Tiertarock_Mannheim_ca_1778

dealing tarot cards
an historical past time
not a future tense

not a future tense
tarot cards can only show
a suit, not suitor

a suit, not suitor
held within your hand you find
ancient game playing

ancient game playing
many a heart’s been trumped
dealing tarot cards

With a flurry if not a flush,  I bid you farewell for another day.  Though my cascade may not attract a full-house, I welcome you, my friend, to the fold with all my , , ♣ and ♠s.

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

JRB’s Haiku Gifts

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #184, Tarot

  1. Cathy Tenzo says:

    A very nice series of haiku here. They really flow.

  2. Rosemarie says:

    I think tarot as a subject is difficult, and you have written a very nice haiku cascade that works. Thanks also for the like on my Carmen flight of fancy.

  3. WabiSabi says:

    I think you dealt yourself a royal flush today! 🙂 Not in the Cards

  4. Beautifully composed cascading haiku on Tarot … it floats like a river.

  5. Maggie Grace says:

    Your skepticism is showing ;-O I took it to a Jungian level. So like me. *snork* Nicely done with your reality and tenses.

  6. a very fine cascade, with some cleverness ‘to boot’

  7. jazzbumpa says:

    nice
    and very clever
    Cheers!
    JzB

  8. Ese' s Voice says:

    Wonderful collection, JRB! While reading I felt like different cards were passing through my hands without even noticing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

