Haiku Carpe Diem Special #34, Chèvrefeuille’s ‘under the willow’

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku prompt is Chèvrefeuille’s ‘under the willow’:

such a hot day
my shadow needs to cool down
under the willow

A wonderful Haiku by Chèvrefeuille, which immediately made me think of one I’d written for the prompt Willow previously:

20130401-111904.jpg

But this prompt is as much about the hot day as it is the willow methinks. So here’s an image from a 38c day this summer at Mooloolaba Beach.

20130113-194653.jpg

Mooloolaba Beach
Refuge from summer heat wave
Sips cold beer at bar

For my followers in the UK, I’ll explain ‘cold beer’ later. But I’ve posted both of these before, so here’s a new one that attempts to show just how hot an Aussie summer day can get…

6137296651_2e8d950491Image By LC’s Art

Aussie summer day
when the heat pulls no punches
the wise Roos snooze

So my friends, thank you once again for calling in to see me. I hope that you’re rested and at least a little refreshed.

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

JRB’s Haiku Gifts

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem Special #34, Chèvrefeuille’s ‘under the willow’

  1. WabiSabi says:

    Oh my! Give those poor ‘roos a sip of cold beer! When it is really warm here we call it Africa hot. I think I’ll say Australia hot in the future! Thanks for the smiles! 🙂

  2. kz says:

    awww those kangaroos look so cute while they’re sleeping haha interesting set of haikus. my favorite is the first one, love the touch of magic 🙂

    • jrbsays says:

      Thanks KZ, the first haiku was inspired by a willow tree in a street I lived in as a child. We played there all the time 🙂
      The Roos are pretty ‘cool’ 🙂

  3. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    The kangaroo photo is priceless. They look like they’re suffering from heat prostration—which is better, I suppose, than suffering from heat prostitution! 🙂

  4. Awesome series of haiku JRB … and that kangaroo-photo is hilarious 🙂

  5. Maggie Grace says:

    My first thought reading the prompt was how much fun it would be for kids to pretend like it’s a fort. But then was led elsewhere. Adore the first and last, especially the photo of the last! Understand the second. No shade and sipping pina coladas all day. That works too.

  6. Good fun, but the first is just spectacular…feel the fireworks on that one!

  7. siggiofmaine says:

    Maybe it’s my computer…the button refused my “like”.
    The first one is so wonderful…I’ve never known willow trees like that except thru photos.
    I understand the English beer reference, and thought the Roos were intoxicated or dead before I read the haiku !
    An enjoyable triplet.
    Peace
    Siggi

  8. If you had a willow handy, you wouldn’t be so hot! (And you may take that any way you wish!)

    Small Shadow

Leave a Reply

