Dementia Poems: Holes In The Wall

Image By Phil Gradwell

Image By Phil Gradwell

Today I was thinking about the early signs of Mum’s Dementia whilst she was living with us in Brisbane.

One very hot day, I came home to find Mum had been frantically ironing, but the ironing board was set up in an unusual place and too close to the wall. The wall was dotted with hundreds of tiny holes where the point of the iron had hit it. As I recall, Mum seemed not to have noticed the damage and when I pointed it out, she didn’t link it to anything she had done.

Looking back, this was clearly one of many littles warning signs that all was not well. If only we’d seen the writing on the wall, how might Mum’s Dementia Journey have differed? I guess I’ll never know.

holes in the wall
from frenzied ironing –
the clues we missed

the clues we missed
seem like writing on the wall
now my brick has gone

now my brick has gone
what she meant is the cement
holding me together

holding me together
smiles, love and laughter before
the holes in the wall

First posted on my Dementia Journeys website.

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Dementia, Haibun, Haiku and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dementia Poems: Holes In The Wall

  1. Wow! Dementia is something I am researching and very concerned about, having seen the effect of it. Our minds are such powerful tools but when they become defenseless it is devastating. What you must have gone through…

  2. siggiofmaine says:

    John,
    First I want to say thank you for sharing this episode…how heart breaking it must have been.
    I worked for 30 plus years with people with dementia and related disorders. Now, my friends, their spouse or parents are developing dementia. Truly a heart breaking condition.
    Peace and love,
    Siggi
    PS…I tried to “like” with no luck.

Leave a Reply

