Haiku Carpe Diem Special #33 And #178 Pigeon

This Carpe Diem Haiku prompt is Chèvrefeuille’s ‘the cool rain’

hato saku sakura-kuuru na ameno ma kuukuu

the cooing of pigeons
between blooming cherry trees –
the cool rain

I am also posting this in response to prompt #178. Pigeons and rain took me straight to this place…

1854522978_136923a2c0Image Credits

hear the pigeons coo
laughing at regal lions
Lord Nelson looks on

pigeons

Image Credits

long before Homer
Anacreon’s poems praised
the homing pigeon

1280px-Pigeon_baby

baby pigeons –
“you don’t see many of them”
said the wide mouth frog

Note on the last Haiku: My father and I shared a love of the Wide Mouth Frog joke (along with ‘Green Side Up’ but that’s another, very long, story). I post this Haiku in the hope that you won’t be able to say that you don’t see baby pigeons.

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

JRB’s Haiku Gifts

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem Special #33 And #178 Pigeon

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    I enjoy your haiku captions to photos…and the last note … a fond memory of a time with your father that I hope you will share some day, and thank you for the baby pigeon photo…no I haven’t seen any baby pigeons.
    Peace
    Siggi

    • jrbsays says:

      Thanks Siggi, I may well share that joke one day. It has become a Belchamber male initiation ceremony to pass it on from generation to generation. My son awaits his turn 😉

      I’m glad you have now ‘broken your Duck’ on baby pigeons too 🙂

  2. siggiofmaine says:

    I just watched the wide mouth frog times two…LOVE it ! Thank you for the chuckle.

  3. Maggie says:

    Pigeons wander into lovely memories for me too. Beautiful photos and words…and thanks for the photo of the baby pigeons!

    • jrbsays says:

      Thanks for popping by Grace, I’m glad you have some good memories of Pigeons too.
      Thanks also for visiting JRB’s Haiku Gifts store and commenting 🙂

  4. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Is Lord Nelson easily amused?

    Stalking Pigeons

  5. Cathy Tenzo says:

    I knew the joke. Sadly I don’t really see baby pigeons. I always wonder about that. Must stay well hidden until they get bigger! I love the one about Nelson.

    • jrbsays says:

      Thanks Cathy, apparently when pigeons fledge they are almost full grown and, of course, they next in places we don;t usually hang out 🙂

      • Cathy Tenzo says:

        Oh, that makes sense. They used to nest on my apartment building ledge but management put up those nasty bird spikes 😦 Thanks for solving the mystery, I have often wondered

  6. Love this .. need to google for the joke.. never heard it.

  7. bwahahahaha—fun, Pigeon Ku. aloha John. i couldnt resist the contemporary “ku” for “haiku” along with pigeons. way fun on your ku. aloha.

  8. high five and raspberries says:

    I also had too watch the video..just adorable. I have never heard the joke before. All of your takes on this prompt were excellent.

  9. WabiSabi says:

    I guess Lord Nelson has no choice -getting ‘rained’ on by the pigeons! Love your wide mouthed frog!

  10. Very nice series on ‘the cool rain’ and ‘pigeons’

Leave a Reply

