Haiku Carpe Diem #173, Threnody – To Mum And Dad

Threnody, this Haiku prompt from Carpe Diem was provided by Mark M. Redfearn.

thren·o·dy – a poem, speech, or song of lamentation, especially for the dead; dirge; funeral song. dictionary.com

I immediately knew who I wanted to write about, but where to start when there is so much you need to say?

My Dad – As I travel through my life, it seems that my Dad’s life is unveiled further with every step I take. As a child, every boy wants to be their father and then we move into a stage when it’s the last thing we want to be.  I’m pleased to say that I am now able to celebrate, and be eternally thankful, for our similarities.

My Mum – as regular readers know, my Mum’s Dementia journey ended last January. The image of her includes a Haiku I wrote before she left us forever. It attempts to communicate how precious those ever fleeting moments are when the person with Dementia is the person you remember and your are the same to them.
Mr Bojangles was a favourite of Mum’s, when she heard it her hand would go straight to her heart, a big smile would smother her face and she’d whistle (hard to do whilst smiling I know), sing  and often  dance. The song will  forever be her threnody for those of us who shared smiles, love and laughter with her.

John Belchamber Snr

looking at my life
it becomes more clear to me
I’m your threnody

IMG_1601Mr Bojangles
when he dances for my mum
her hand on my heart

With my hand on my heart, thank you for joining me in celebrating the memory of my parents. Their legacy lives on in theirs and ours.

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

JRB’s Haiku Gifts

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #173, Threnody – To Mum And Dad

  1. A wonderful tribute to your parents JRB.

  2. WabiSabi says:

    Reading your words brought me to a bittersweet memory! The idea of Mr Bojangles being your mum’s threnody reminded me of my Dad’s favorite song which we sang to him when he returned from the hospital …..’Hello Dolly’……… Although he has been gone for almost 40 years, I think of him (and his smile) whenever I hear that song! Thank you!

    • jrbsays says:

      Wabi – my Dad would have run away from us all for one lady…Barbara Streisand. I still recall being dragged to watch a Sunday Matinee Streisand triple bill at the age of five 🙂

  3. such a wonderful post!

  4. As said above a wonderful and personal tribute, honored to be part of it…

  5. Maggie says:

    Am sorry I just found this now. Somehow I missed you. Such a lovely memory and tribute to your mother. You describe her with such love.

  6. siggiofmaine says:

    You are such an elegant writer…speak from the heart without sounding “sloppy and sugary” …
    On your dad…”I am now able to celebrate, and be eternally thankful, for our similarities.”
    and
    on your MoM…”how precious those ever fleeting moments are when the person with Dementia is the person you remember and your are the same to them.”
    and “The song will forever be her threnody for those of us who shared smiles, love and laughter with her.”
    Your haiku speak these sentiments perfectly for me. Thank you for sharing the legacy of your parents.
    Peace,
    Siggi

    • jrbsays says:

      Thank you Siggi, I think my father gave me the love of playing with words (and, my children lament, his humour) and my mother gave me the bravery to explore one’s feelings.

Leave a Reply

