Haiku: Carpe Diem #156, Tako (kite)

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku prompt is Tako (kite)

What a fun prompt to have leading into the Easter holidays. Images of blue skies and the happiness of childhood, the freedom of a kite and a journey back to when kites arrived in Japan…

kites

Image Credits

soaring through my dreams
a persistant memory
sailing with dada

makar-sankrati-many-kites-photo

Image Credits

do the kites
dream of a life
with no strings attached

childrenkite02

Image Credits

kites pulling on strings
japanese seek transcendence
from Twang Dynasty

My apologies to Salvador Dali and the Haiku syllable police – I couldn’t help myself. Twang Dynasty…that little historical fact is going to keep me going all long-weekend.

Smiles, love and laughter.

© John Belchamber 2013

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Haiku: Carpe Diem #156, Tako (kite)

  1. artmusedog says:

    Fantastic! Delightful ~ love the kite with’no strings attached’ ~ and the origin of kites ~ and sailing with Dada ^_^

  2. clever and fun, as you so often are….

  3. JazzBumpa says:

    if kites dream
    then they surely dream
    of flying free.

    first and third flew over my head

    Cheers!
    JzB

  4. Cathy Tenzo says:

    I like all of these and your sense of humor but I especially love the one about “no strings attached”–interesting that so many of us felt for the bondage of the kite.

  5. nightlake says:

    The second one really captured the imagination. Thank you for stopping by my blog

  6. I think the HSP squad will forgive you today for writing those funny and beautiful lines!

  7. WabiSabi says:

    Not if they know about the imminent crash landing!! Thanks for brightening my day!

  8. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Oh, I’m SURE the kites dream of the unattached life!

    Kites

  9. yeoldepirate says:

    I can see the patterns in your haiku! I knew the classical one was coming! 2nd one very nice too.

  10. No strings attached. really good.

  11. Wunderbar JRB, what a gorgeous post on ‘kite’ and that first photo ‘a ssailing boat of kites’, awesome.

  12. siggiofmaine says:

    I love this post….and “twang dynasty”…awesome !
    Peace
    Siggi

Leave a Reply

