Haiku: Carpe Diem Special #28, Onitsura’s Cherry-Flowers

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku prompt is Onitsura’s Cherry-Flowers…

saku-karani miru-karani hana no chiru-karani

the cherry-flowers bloom;
we gaze at them;
they fall, and …

I found the image below and got carried away writing from the inspiration it gave. I almost forgot Ontisura’s prompt…

cherry_blossoms_and_mount_1024x768

Image Credits

cherry flowers bow
to the temple gods, perhaps
a Fuji moment?

~ | ~

in the temple pray
to magnanimous Fuji
cherry buds erupt

~ | ~

cherry buds erupt
in the town the people pray
Mount Fuji does not

Oh yes, the prompt haiku…

cherry blossoms fall
snow on Fuji melts away
people pray, and…

A temple, cherry flowers, Mount Fuji and a mystery all in one post. I do hope you’re not too worn out to say hello – I’m off to watch Midsomer Murders 🙂

Smiles, love and laughter.

© John Belchamber 2013

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Haiku: Carpe Diem Special #28, Onitsura’s Cherry-Flowers

  1. Gracy says:

    Oh what a pleasure it is to read these haiku! Beautifully scripted. And we’re never too worn out to read your lovely haiku and say hello 🙂

  2. saying so much and so much left unsaid! the implications…

  3. JazzBumpa says:

    I always enjoy what you say
    and what you leave unsaid

    Cheers!
    JzB

  4. Wonderful and mount Fuji with Cherry blossoms couldn’t be better.

  5. WabiSabi says:

    While it does get weary traveling the world to read and read haiku, it is never tiring to stop in here. After a dozen deep, seriously heart -pinching takes on Onitsura’s …….. I have to say I burst out laughing at your first poem. A Fuji moment, indeed. And so in tune with the meaning of the original! You know………. living in the moment and all that. Probably the reason I laughed so loud is, I often miss the “kodak moment’ fiddling around with my camera!

  6. jrbsays says:

    Thank you for being a frequent flyer Wabi. We all look forward to landing at your blog too.
    With regards to cameras, you’re at least one step ahead of me. I usually forget I have one with me 🙂

  7. kz says:

    beautiful set… loved the idea of cherry blossoms erupting

  8. jrbsays says:

    Thanks KZ – I read that they have predicted Fuji may erupt again by 2015 and the cherries seemed to be foreshadowing this 🙂

  9. bwahahahaha, aloha John “a Fuji moment” priceless. i gotta like that one. fun. aloha.

  10. siggiofmaine says:

    Lovely…
    My favorite JRB moments:
    .
    cherry flowers bow
    to the temple gods, perhaps
    ***a Fuji moment?
    .
    and the entire:
    .
    cherry buds erupt
    in the town the people pray
    Mount Fuji does not
    .
    Makes me remember my time in Japan and Perez Prado !
    Peace, Siggi
    .

Leave a Reply

