Dementia Haiku: When I Close My Eyes

When_I_Close_My_Eyes

Inspiration: when you leave a loved one ‘there’

Smiles, love and laughter.

© John Belchamber 2013

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Dementia, Haiku, Instagram and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dementia Haiku: When I Close My Eyes

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    I love the haiku but got confused by (and it doesn’t take much)
    “When you leave a loved one ‘there’”
    Am enjoying your haiku book…reading one or two at a time. My only problem was reading the haiku page with the colored background. Maybe I’m the only one …
    The book is such and awesome idea and I learned a lot about you too…I would have sworn you had written haiku for a long time. About the time you started writing haiku, I took a class to understand the intricacies and nuances of the poems. I do love what you write.

    Also, I am completely computer incompetent in most ways…couldn’t figure out how to get the book once it was in my computer.. The friendly local library helped me there (I couldn’t find
    a teenager who would humor me and show me ! )

    Thank you for you enjoyable posts and the book.
    Peace
    Siggi

  2. jrbsays says:

    Thank you for purchasing the eBook Siggi and the great feedback. I’m pleased you got to read it eventually 🙂
    “When you leave a loved one ‘there’ ” is not part of the haiku, but more of an explanation of it. The ‘there’ can be wherever one wants it to be.
    Although this is about a Dementia journey, the inspiration for it came after I had to leave my eldest daughter alone in a hospital overnight. Once I was home, whenever I closed my eyes all I could see was her in the bed and a tsunami of emotions swept over me thinking of her alone.
    P.S. my daughter came home well the next day 🙂

  3. siggiofmaine says:

    Thank you for you feed back on the reply I left. I did interpret it the way you meant…as separate from the haiku…but as a nurse that worked for so many years with the confused and demented population, I went so many places in my mind !

    I understand the inspiration coming from leaving your daughter in the hospital. Except my tsunami came while I was visiting her, while she was waiting to have a baby 15 years ago in May.
    (we talked about the birthing “tsnami” just the other day) …I am pleased your daughter came home well…Your children must be a lot younger than mine … a lot of fodder for writing.

    My writing is because I “have” to write, but also, to leave behind information and memories from my perspective for all the grand-children (girls) and my son and daughter. I can’t wait to read more of your dementia writes.

    Thanks again…
    Peace
    Siggi

Leave a Reply

