Haiku Carpe Diem #149, Tsukushi (horsetail)

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku prompt is Tsukushi (horsetail)

I found today’s prompt difficult for some reason. Possibly because I’m not familiar with Tsukushi, or perhaps it’s because I’m allergic to horses? Whatever the reason, in the spirit of Carpe Diem I strived to put ink to paper…

Tsukushi_Ink

Image Credits

Tsukushi
poets write of you
in brown ink

in brown ink
the meadows  passed
a sentence

a sentence
horsetail punctuates
Tsukushi

Well  there we are.  From the depths of my ink well, a trickle more than a cascade. I hope you pause a while and if my words don’t put you into a coma (or worse still, a full stop) please do leave your mark in the comments box.

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #149, Tsukushi (horsetail)

  1. My dear sir, a trickle is better than a dry streambed. It IS a difficult prompt, and you’ve done your manly best. Thank you!

  2. I like the set! that brown ink intrigues me!

  3. JazzBumpa says:

    Black Beauty
    a horse tale written
    in brown ink

    Cheers!
    JzB

  4. Poet Laundry says:

    I like where you went with this–nice take!

  5. Well, we can’t always create stellar works of poetic art, can we?! Actually, I enjoyed the ‘trickle’ (we are our own harshest critics)…can you explain the ‘brown ink’?

    • jrbsays says:

      Tsukushi Ink (shown in the image) is brown apparently. I’m not sure if it is made from Horsetail plant, but I like to think it may be.

  6. You did great… I actully enjoy horsetail here in Sweden… quite common in the summer..

  7. WabiSabi says:

    This prompt(not your haiku) put me into a coma too but you did well! It is always fun to pop ‘down under’ to visit your blog! Thanks!

  8. Funny the ink came up when you researched the prompt. Like that you just went with it 😉

  9. kz says:

    is that a fragrance? ^^ they made perfume from horsetail?? ^^

  10. siggiofmaine says:

    i”m struggling on this one…… sigh. Do like what you wrote…inspiring.

Leave a Reply

