Dementia Haiku: Ride The Carousel

20130320-211949.jpg

I’m working on a series of words to voice the experiences of a recent Dementia Journey that my family all took together. The journey for us is as over as it can be, but I hope we can bring some small comfort to others that what they are going through is not unusual.

Smiles, love and laughter

© John Belchamber 2013

 

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Dementia, Haiku and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia Haiku: Ride The Carousel

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    This is, to me, what it must be like for the confused early dementia person. Here then there.

    Am looking forward to more of this series as I spent over 30 years working with people and their families on a similar journey.

    Peace

    • jrbsays says:

      Thank you Siggi, both for your comment and the work you have done with dementia patients.
      Here in Australia they are predicting 3million people with have dementia (out of a population of 22 million). It already kills more people than cancer, yet it receives so little funding/support. With us all living longer, I believe everyone will all be affected by the disease at some stage.

  2. WabiSabi says:

    I am very interested in your desire to express your experiences with dementia in haiku. I have been trying a similar project with my own experiences ……not limited to dementia though. I can’t decide if haiku is the right way to go with this (in my case)
    In your haiku , you have very subtly hit on one aspect of this ride. My mother has dementia and I feel like it is a roller coaster ride (for me)! She is the one on the carousel!
    Here are two links if you want to read my poems. One is about my mother’s dementia, the other is about other people i have cared for in the past:
    Haiku my Heart -Open
    Word Maven

    I don’t always have sufficient time to browse through my reader, but I will keep on the look out for your poems on this subject. I think writing helps to process all the grief and sadness that comes with this horrible diagnosis! Bravo to you for writing about it! Thanks for sharing and thank you for your humor! It is truly a gift to all who read your blog!

  3. jrbsays says:

    Thank you for your kind and inspiring words Wabi…I always value your thoughts as I continue my Haiku journey…like a friendly and wise Sat Nav reminding one you’re on the right path 🙂

    I have read and relished both of the posts you kindly pointed me to. As I commented there, I think Haiku (or at least it’s syllable formats) is a great style for our times. Crafted as well as you do, it has the power to impact greatly, but quickly. Poetry for a social media ADD world methinks.

    That said, I agree that other forms of writing are perhaps needed to fully express the Dementia journey. My toes are at the edge of that pool. To dip in or dive?

Leave a Reply

