Haiku Carpe Diem #117, Sakura (Japan)

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku Prompt is Sakura (Japan)

These three came along early today for some reason. The first two inspired by the images I found. The third’s words came first so I made the image. I hope you enjoy them….

Cherry-Blossom-Lake-Sakura-JapanImage Credits

Sakura chorus
Rhapsody covers the lake
Makes the fish seem coy

16_kodo_lgImage Credits

Taiko Drummers pose
Sumos of the music world
Drum bigger than bum

Hiroshima_Pink

Taiko Drums Rumble
Flash of Sakura blossoms
Hiroshima Dawn

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #117, Sakura (Japan)

  1. Oh you make haiku seem so effortless…how you do that is a phenomena…these are brilliant. I especially love the first!

  2. zennjennc says:

    ‘Fish seem coy’ 🙂

  3. WabiSabi says:

    coy fish
    listen to big bummed drummers
    waiting for spring

  4. Awesome set JRB … I like the one on Taiko drummers, with that wonderful photo, it feels almost if they are here right in my house, I am listening to a Taiko piece. That first one is really a beautiful gem. Thank you for sharing.

  5. kz says:

    hehehe i find myself looking forward to the humor in your haiku. but the rhapsody from the sakura chorus is so lovely!

  6. I agree with KZ – there’ s always a line or more that makes me smile. Or chuckle. Just like today. Yet the last haiku…the most powerful for me with so much in between the lines.

  7. jazzbumpa says:

    Seductive
    Rhythmically clever
    Tragic

    In that order
    JzB

  8. I am sobered by your take on Hiroshima…

    Drumming haiku

  9. First one is groan worthy but any giggle get stuck by the transition to the last one. Genius.

  10. Look for A Lovely Thing says:

    These are very well written. My favorite is the first for its poetic sublime-ness (is that a word?). I enjoyed the middle one for it’s “cheekiness” (pun intended) and all the alliteration (the uh sounds) in there too. And what can I say to “Hiroshima dawn” other than WOW!

  11. I have had the good fortune to attend a concert of Japanese drumming and the thrumming echos thruout your body….it’s amazing….How do these incredible and diverse haiku just emanate from your keyboard? I am jealous …..

  12. ElizOF says:

    Brilliant and these two lines made me laugh! 🙂
    Sumos of the music world
    Drum bigger than bum

Leave a Reply

