Haiku Carpe Diem #109, Early Blossom

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku Prompt is Early Blossom.

mb-wattleImage Credits

The Acacia (or Wattle) is Australia’s National Floral emblem which flowers in late winter with glorious golden scented blooms. The first day of Spring (September 1st) is officially Wattle Day. Yet, as Wikipedia points out, this ancient flora has been revered for millennia…

Acacia blooms
Golden sprigs of southern sun
Wattle Spring behold

~ | ~

Moses’ burning bush
Furnishing tabernacle
Mystic Acacia

~ | ~

Yahweh’s commandment
Acacia encompass
Ark of Covenant

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #109, Early Blossom

  1. WabiSabi says:

    I learned about a plant I did not know about from these beautifully rendered verses . I love the name Wattle but still feel turned up-side-down when I try to envision your seasons!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. zennjennc says:

    I love reading great haiku and learning something!

  3. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    The acacia seems to be trying to outshine the sun!

    Too Early

  4. JazzBumpa says:

    Beautiful and spiritual.
    Cheers!
    JzB

  5. Awesome picture of the blooming acacia … I love that tree … in my country they are however not so full of blossoms as on your side of the world. And yes MMT it looks like the Acacia tries to outshine the sun. Thank you JRB for sharing this haiku set with us … I have learned again something more about nature.

  6. meenakshi says:

    That a bit of information I didn’t know. Thanks for sharing, beautiful haiku.

  7. I love the picture, and I love the word wattle.. Brings back memories of whiffle. Sometimes just the sound of a word make me wanna sing. Thank you.

  8. This was not just very picturesque, but also fun and educational. 🙂 Enjoyed, jrb!

  9. becca givens says:

    I have consistently remind myself — the other side of the world is in different season … my muse gets confused. 😀 Very nice set!!

Leave a Reply

