Haiku Carpe Diem #107, Children

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku Prompt is Children.

How does one condense all that children give into 17 syllables? I intended to stop at the first haiku, but it just became a cascade. One that I was in danger of continuing well past my welcome, then I found infinity…

IMG_0217

At first it was me
Then it became we. But now
It’s all about you

It’s all about you
Joy in everything you do
Smile, eat, burp and poo

Smile, eat, burp and poo
Walking and then talking too
“Daddy” casts it’s spell

“Daddy” casts it’s spell
Master key to every door
A smile my payment

A smile my payment
Yet in your essence I see
Immortality

For Lucia, Chloe & Robert,
With infinite love.
Daddy
XXX

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #107, Children

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    I love this…I can see why you had to go on and not stop at one verse.
    Thank you…blessings to you and your wonderful family.
    Peace,
    Siggi

  2. JazzBumpa says:

    I have 2 and acquired two more and they gave us 11 grandchildren.
    It’s all good.
    Many smiles in your cascade.

    Cheers!
    JzB

  3. kz says:

    It’s all about you, burp and poo — ohmygod, you’re scaring me hahaha
    but yes, surely that smile is absolutely worth it 🙂

  4. “Daddy” casts it’s spell…A smile my payment…. i really can’ t stop smiling… Your haiku cascade today – a torrent of love and genuine positivity. 🙂

  5. high five and raspberries says:

    lovely cascade…

  6. 4joy says:

    your total delight and love of your kids is so uplifting…..I love this cascade, and all that it encompasses..

  7. basho2012 says:

    Awesome haiku series JRB. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

