Haiku Carpe Diem Special #17, Shiki’s ‘Cold Winter Blast’

Today’s Carpe Diem Prompt is a Special based on a haiku by the Master of the Month, Shiki…

samui fuyubura suto sugegasano watashino kubini katto kadoo

cold winter blast
a cord of a sedge hat
cut into my neck

The ‘cold winter blast’ in Shiki’s Haiku took me back to my surfing days when I lived on the North Devon Coast, England. When I was Hotel Manager at The Saunton Sands Hotel, in between split shifts I’d dash down to the beach below to surf. In the cold winter months, I’d quickly take off my Morning Suit and clad myself from head to toe (and finger tips) in thick rubber to surf , often with frost or even snow on the beach. After my surf I’d drive home in my wetsuit and get undressed under a hot shower.

As waves come in sets of five, so has my story…

surf-winterImage Credits

Snow sunbathes on beach
Ocean’s call brings surfer nigh
Latex warrior

Latex warrior
Duck dives through bitterest waves
Ice-cream headaches scream

Ice-cream headaches scream
Pain raping nervous system
Wave on horizon

Wave on horizon
Paddle onwards, crest craving
Drop in the ocean

Drop in the ocean
Poseidon’s wrath your playground
Ride his horses home

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem Special #17, Shiki’s ‘Cold Winter Blast’

  1. cookie5683 says:

    This is my favorite of all time. Every wave makes me feel like I’m there.

  2. JazzBumpa says:

    I never imagined an ice cream headache
    [I call it a brain freeze]
    coming from the outside in.

    Terrific set
    JzB

  3. zennjennc says:

    “Poseidon’s wrath your playground” simply awesome!

  4. Hat off – these are really well done, jrb! Step by step images appear – colours, sounds, everything.

  5. ***jealous***** send some of that warmth to Canada please : )

  6. 4joy says:

    You have reached new heights in haiku writing here! Maybe its because you are telling a personal story, but the entire work was the best …….

  7. moondustwriter says:

    I surfed in some cold stuff but that is cold brrrr…
    excellent btw

  8. I shiver with you on this great haiku story

  9. yerpirate says:

    Each one is written in different style – like that, with different mood..’latex warrior’! great expression!

    • jrbsays says:

      Thanks Pirate, I’m noticing I keep drawing on Greek Mythology for my closing lines for some reason.

      • yerpirate says:

        Yes I noticed that – I think that is a very strong parallel to build on, and has rel resonance. Is quite unique as well. Will look out for that in your haiku and see if it continues to work very well..

  10. Brings me the shivers JRB … I am not a surfer, but your story and your series of haiku made think again … ‘maybe I have to try surfing’, but not in icy cold waters. Riding Poseidon’s horse sounds great, but his wrath … ????

  11. Green Speck says:

    This is beautiful … loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

