Haiku Carpe Diem #113, Joyful

Today’s Carpe Diem Haiku Prompt is Joyful.

Oh so much joy to be thankful for, but perhaps I’ll share one of my first moments a sheer unadulterated bliss….

On August 6th 1980 (my 16th birthday) I saw Pink Floyd perform The Wall at Earls Court, London. That concert has journeyed with me ever since and David Gilmour’s guitar solo for Comfortably Numb still fills me with absolute joy.

london1Image Credits

When Gilmour rises
‘Anybody in there’ nods
In absolute joy

In absolute joy
The Wall came a tumbling down
Comfortably numb

Not a traditional haiku I know, but then that’s my nature :)

About jrbsays

Just a regular married father of three type of guy. Writer of Haiku, founder of www.DementiaJourneys.com and other bits and other bobs.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Haiku and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Haiku Carpe Diem #113, Joyful

  1. Isn’t is wonderful how the comfortable numbness sometimes continues for years and years?:)

  2. Not traditional, but really these are wonderfully crafted JRB … I appreciate that haijin sometimes leave the path of the traditional haiku. The classical haiku masters left the path also sometimes. E.g. Basho he wrote several years in the non-traditional Kanshicho-style … a style which I like. Thank you for sharing and leaving the path … :-)

  3. Who needs a traditional haiku when you’re comfortably numb? :)

    Joyful Song

  4. WabiSabi says:

    Pink Floyd……..comfortably numb………walls tumbling down……..absolute joy………=haiku!! I LOVE it!

  5. Green Speck says:

    I love Pink Floyd :-)

  6. JazzBumpa says:

    The absolute joy
    Of numb comfort
    Haijin high jinks

    Cheers!
    JzB

  7. Just seing the photo for me the mood was set and the song was on my mind… still is! I believe I know somebody who will enjoy your take on this prompt as much as I do :)

  8. My envy goes out to you.
    It was always my dream to see the wall live. I finally got a little bit true when the wall came to stockholm. I screamed in joy.

    • jrbsays says:

      That was the first of my 4 Floyd concerts, even thought the second was the first date with my wife, it’s still the most memorable for me.

  9. ElizOF says:

    Love that line… comfortable numb… and the wall tumbled. :-)
    Eliz

  10. kaykuala says:

    When it matters it lingers on all these years. The wall did tumble and they were a joy to see! . Nicely JRB!

    Hank

  11. yerpirate says:

    Woops…my comment about this went to Mariachi! I think I’d better lay-off those Mexican bottles!

Leave a Reply

